How Christian Devotions Taught Me to Appreciate Myself

This week I want to share with you all a personal ritual that’s been really special to me in Christianity and out. Actually, I think I may have Christianity to thank for it. And so this post will be probably the first on this blog to talk about a positive thing that Christianity gave me, or strengthened in me!

The ritual I’m talking about is something called daily devotions. Depending on what sect of Christianity you come from, you might know what I’m talking about. Daily devotions are, to my knowledge, a pretty modern practice. Doing your “daily devotions” consists of a few things:

  1. Find a peaceful, secluded place away from people and noise (your room, the front porch, a lakeshore)
  2. Pray asking God to “open your ears” to what he wants to tell you in the Scripture excerpt you’re about to read
  3. Read an excerpt of the Bible – usually a chapter or two
  4. Read what your “devotional” says about it (a book that suggests a daily Scripture reference to read, and a few paragraphs on how to apply its lessons to your life)
  5. Think about the Scripture’s “application” to your life
  6. Pray that God will help you do it in the coming week

Daily devotions are a self-driven activity for spiritual growth, an independent Bible study – you decide when and where to do them, and the idea is that God has different messages for every person every day. It’s up to you to pick a reading schedule or devotional (there are tons you can find or buy for all demographics, from kids to middle-aged women), read it regularly, and actually strive to apply them to your life. 

The idea is that through devotions, you’ll grow closer to God. It’s how you’re supposed to strengthen your relationship with God. You retreat from the world to a peaceful place, you tell God your worries and thanks, your praise for him and your sins. You read about who he is. You meditate on who you are and who you aim to be. Then you go forward – with those memories and conclusions in mind.

Now that I’m no longer Christian, I obviously don’t do devotions anymore. At least, not with God.

As toxic as Christianity was for me, I can say that doing my devotions taught me the art of making retreats for myself. Because I’ve been struggling with a few chronic (and very existential) problems for most of my life, a huge part of my survival and recovery has been these “check ins”. The difference between devotions and retreats is that I do the latter by instinct, not by instruction. There aren’t rules. There’s no blueprint. Yet they’re more helpful to the person I am and I wanna be than devotions ever were.

I usually check in when I’m feeling totally overwhelmed. It’s not an intentional thing… I just feel drawn to find a place away from crowds, usually with a great view of the place I’m in, like a park bench or a third-floor room. I sit and think or talk aloud to myself. I go over who I’ve been, what I’ve survived. I check in with who and where I am now in recovery. And I let myself imagine the person I’ve dreamed of being for years… even though it’s almost impossible to do most of the time.

These check ins are a really awesome way to regroup. They also let me connect with myself. I see myself as more a team than one person, so instead of asking the Holy Spirit for help or praising God for what he’s “given” me, I acknowledge my own victories and learn to trust myself, again and again and again.

If there’s anyone I’m praying to now, it’s myself, and I have Christianity to thank for giving me that framework: withdraw, meditate, connect with self, think, thank, and resolve to be better.

Here are some pics of places I’ve gone over the last few months – a pond and the woods I visited before summer began.

As for devotionals, I make my own. AKA – I art journal! I like to say that art journaling is whining aesthetically, lol. It’s pretty self-explanatory: you journal through art, whether that’s collage, sketch, painting, watercolors, etc.

I use my art journal to vent and process things I’m going through, such as situational mutism and mind bugs from religious indoctrination. It’s free therapy… and it’s pretty! More importantly, it lets me put all the thoughts bouncing around my head down on paper.

My art journal is pretty sacred to me. I treat it carefully, and I carry it with me when I need some extra comfort. It’s the closest thing to Scripture I’ve got, and I write it myself. Check out a few spreads that relate to this blog:

That’s it for this week! If this post made you think about your own methods of meditation, or the rituals of prayer and devotions you used to have… if you have questions about art journaling or some of your own to share… go ahead! I’d love to hear from ya. Have a great Sunday, everyone!

2 thoughts on “How Christian Devotions Taught Me to Appreciate Myself

  1. Quixie September 18, 2016 / 11:09 pm

    I ❤’d this post! It’s very inspiring. Your art journal is great. I think I’m going to do something similar. Thanks for the idea!

    Like

    • maxgoesgodless September 21, 2016 / 10:13 pm

      Aw, thanks Quixie! No problem, I’m glad to hear that I inspired another art journaler… it’s one of my favorite things to do so “converting” (maybe not the best word to use on this blog) others makes me happy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

